2002-12-16 ~ 9:56 p.m.
don't let it go away--this feeling has got to stay

Listening to:

Listening to: "Love Song For No One," John Mayer. I have a feeling that John Mayer is going to be one of those artists that stays with me even after everyone stops liking him. I'm not one to follow the crowd--at least not when it comes to music--but in Mr. Mayer's case I think he's worthy to stay on my favorites list for a long time.

Wow, check out the productivity. I finished my Bio lab, and also wrote more than half of my Liberty's Daughters essay. I got major writer's block right in the beginning of the 3rd support paragraph, so I just decided to call it a night and work on it again tomorrow.

Time to shift into band-geek mode:

My school is having the Winter Concert for the bands on Thursday. I personally am prepared to play (and if I had to play maybe with just Lindsay and a couple other people, I think I'd be alright), but the rest of my band isnt. Let's trace out the musical heirarchy in my school. There are a whole shitload of bands, and most of them are pretty good. At the very top of the chain are the Jazz Bands. The big Jazz band, that wins lots of competitions, and the Standards band, which is very cool and intimate and cafe-ish. On the opposite end of the chain is usually the Freshman Band, cause, you know, they're frosh. But this year all the frosh are like prodigies. Anyway, every year everybody goes through this audition that places them in one of two bands: The Wind Ensemble, which is the band that plays professional-level concert music, and the Symphonic Band, which is reject band. Anyone who wasn't good enough to make it into Wind Ensemble (or some people who just got unlucky cause there are too many seniors in their section) is in the Symphonic band. That's where I am, but only because I'm not good.

In short, we suck ass.

You'd think that some people would realize that a) we suck ass and b) we are going to totally embarrass ourselves at the concert on Thursday, and FOCUS, but nah. My band is like the ADHD band. They can't pay attention for more than 30 seconds at a time. I'm going to like, hide under my chair during the concert because we are so awful. If you could convert garbage into a sound, that is what we would sound like. I kid you not, and I am not exagerrating.

The only reason I can say this is because I can actually play may part. Granted, I may not be the best flute player ever, but at least I make an effort to play, and at least I have some consideration for my band director, Mr. Keleher. I have so much respect for him for putting up with us. Even I can get spacey sometimes, and I appreciate the fact that he does not like flip out on us all the time. I don't know. I guess I've had a lot of time to think this over, and now that the concert is so close, I'm really dreading it. Maybe if I make it into a good band next year, you guys won't have to put up with this.

SHM didn't come to school today, and then he didn't talk to me online when I got home. What was he thinking? I mean I don't know if I've been dropping enough hints or what. I'm not really a hint-dropping kind of person, I like to let things happen naturally. But since that has not worked for 15 years, I'm thinking I should maybe try a new method. Maybe a slightly more assertive method. One that does not include avoiding eye contact whenever I see him. Agh I'm such a big, big loser.

Alright, I'm finished. I'm in a good mood but I'm also pretty tired. I'd write more but I don't have the energy to organize my thoughts into a coherent entry. Goodnight, D-land!

Falling Upward ~ Falling Downward

Miss Anything?

i'm portable - 2005-02-16

busy making big mistakes - 2004-06-12

i'm sorry I know that's a strange way to tell you - 2004-03-21

hello darkness - 2004-03-17

another night slips away - 2004-03-15

All words � MM 2001-03

>Where<
Now
History

>Who<
Bio
Profile
Cast
Picture
Survey
Ring
Clique
Fans

>Tell<
Email
Notes
IM
Guests

>Fun<
Quizzes
Wish
Random Entry
The-Spark
Reviews

>Design<
Create

Hosted