2004-03-21 ~ 10:51 p.m.
i'm sorry I know that's a strange way to tell you

Listening to: "Green Eyes," Coldplay

I'm curious

as to people's opinion on Secret Window. I AM ABOUT TO SPOIL THE MOVIE FOR SEVERAL PEOPLE. If you wish to see the movie in the near future (or ever, for that matter), please disregard the following blank section. If you wish to participate in the discussion, kindly highlight the following section with your cursor.

Everyone says the ending was JUST like Fight Club and the premise was JUST like the Shining. I have seen the Shining and thought it was fabulous and still was sort of intrigued by this concept. I have never seen Fight Club (but now the ending's ruined for me) so I found the ending of Secret Windowto be a complete surprise and not cliched at all...Besides, Stephen King wrote his novella a good 6 or 6 years before Fight Club was even released. Did anyone notice the motif of RED running through the whole movie? It's a pretty common Stephen King theme, so I guess it's easy to catch onto. Same with mirrors and reverse writing. Also word play (SHOOTER...SHOOT HER). EEP! I'm freaking myself out a little... remembering a couple freaky thangs from the Shining and this movie. WHAT WAS THAT NOISE?!??! Okay I swear I'm alright. Alright, I'm done, I think... this section is really long.

This was my last weekend before I leave for Spain and I must say it couldn't have been better.

Friday: John Mayer/Guster concert...Good God. John Mayer is a rockstar in every sense of the word. You can't help but be captivated when he's onstage. His guitar playing is ahead of his time, I think. He's very blues-influenced and it shows. It was a really memorable concert, it was worth the $45.

And of course I got to see my good friends GUSTER, who play most foot-stomping, body movin' show (did I just describe a Saturday night at a square-dance hall?) EVER. Yes, EVER. After they opened for John they sat outside the seating area to sign autographs and take pictures. I tried to get in line with Ilana and Dan but I got lightheaded and dizzy had to get out of line. Lany and Dan were super-nice and got out of line to come be with me. I don't remember much of what happened between when I got lightheaded to the next time I stood up, but my friends assure me that it was really scary. I feel kind of bad for ruining their chance to get autographs and stuff... :( Especially because Dan got a ticket signed for me by asking some girl. Aww, I really love my friends :) I wish I could make it up to Ilana and Dan for sticking by me and like totally forfeiting their places in line. There are some people out there who wouldn't do that. Hmm. I'll think of SOMETHING. Bwa-ha-ha.

ANYWAY Saturday: Figured out I'm probably suffering from anemia... we still have to get my blood checked though, and there's no time for that before Spain so I am taking vitamin pills until then, in case I really am lacking in iron. Or maybe some other vital nutrient. In any case, these weird spells need to end because they're hindering my ability to do like.. anything fun.

Also Saturday, saw Secret Window with Lauren, Ilana and Ian. It was a fun movie experience. Lauren and I laughed at a bunch of parts that weren't supposed to be funny. Oops. The movie was SO Stephen King and some people might think the concept is tired but I'm not looking for any ground-breaking stuff. So I liked it. Afterwards Lauren and I ate dinner at Panera Bread (I really hope that you, the reader, know what that place is because it's quite possibly the BEST CASUAL DINING EXPERIENCE YOU WILL EVER...EXPERIENCE. Crap I suck. Hah. Okay, and then Coldstone Creamery, which I had never had before. Four words: Cake batter ice cream. Ohh baybee.

Then we went to a local coffee place and ate our ice cream while watching our History teacher perform. He played guitar and sang. It was really cool, I definitely have a new opinion of him. No like my opinion of him before was bad; it's just been altered now. I wish I had the nerve to perform alone like that. I never realized how bad my stage fright is. It's funny cause I used to perform on stage with such ease when I was younger. And now I get shaky even when I'm about to speak in front of the class. So sad.

Today: Last time playing at church before I leave. Afterwards lunch at Bennigans and then I went hardcore SPAIN SHOPPING and got those last odds and ends. I went to Barnes and Noble for books and a journal. I got Aimee by Mary Beth Miller, this lullaby by Sarah Dessen, and Carrie by Stephen King. I am thinking of starting Carrie tonight. Probably a bad idea. I have seen the movie a million times but I will most likely get a little creeped out anyway.

Also today starting "packing," aka putting everything I plan on bringing into the guest room. On Thursday night we will actually pack everything into my ginormous suitcase. Wow. I can't believe Spain is in 5 days. And 16 days after that, it will be over. Nooo. I will definitely have to really savor every moment I am there. No worries while I'm there. I SWEAR. Ha. We'll see. I'll have lots to say when I get back.

Alriiight. Time to go and maybe like read some History, or maybe NOT. I think I might turn in early. I see myself being very VERY unfocused this week. How can I possibly pay attention to school when I'm going to Europe on Friday?

Man. In the words of that modern-age storyteller, Ben Folds,

I am
the luckiest.

Falling Upward ~ Falling Downward

Miss Anything?

i'm portable - 2005-02-16

busy making big mistakes - 2004-06-12

i'm sorry I know that's a strange way to tell you - 2004-03-21

hello darkness - 2004-03-17

another night slips away - 2004-03-15

All words � MM 2001-03

>Where<
Now
History

>Who<
Bio
Profile
Cast
Picture
Survey
Ring
Clique
Fans

>Tell<
Email
Notes
IM
Guests

>Fun<
Quizzes
Wish
Random Entry
The-Spark
Reviews

>Design<
Create

Hosted