2002-04-01 ~ 3:41 p.m.
It's up to you, NY. Yes it is.

Listening to:

Listening to: My brand-spanking-new Natalie Imbruglia CD which I bought in the Virgin Megastore in TIMES SQUARE TEE HEE. Ok.

I'm baaa-aaaaack! You know you all missed me (and by "you all," I mean Madame Lindsay von Shaffer, the only person who reads this). However, in case you are not Lindsay and you don't know where I've been (actually, she, um, went with us), I will inform you of every single detail. Every single one. This is gonna be a super-long entry, so I'm not gonna "boldify" like usual, cause that takes up too much of my time.

First of all. On Friday my family plus Lindsay drove up to New York City. We stopped for a second to get on the ferry to Ellis Island and the Statue of Liberty. That was interesting. The security was incredibly tight--they did the whole metal detector thing even before we were allowed to board the ferry. Then we went on over to Ellis Island (side note: ferries officially make me nauseous) and explored the museum. We didn't see everything because we had to be quick so we could make the ferry to the Statue. But I saw a lot of interesting stuff. I didn't get to see the Wall of Names, but I will see it next time. Mark my words.

Anyway. Then the ferry took us to Liberty Island. Since we weren't allowed to go up into the Statue (it's "closed indefinitely" because of the whole 9/11 thing), my family just took bushels of pictures. And by "bushels" I mean hundreds of thousands of pictures. My face hurts just thinking about it. And we ate lunch on Liberty Island. We sat outside and were attacked by seagulls. Well I was attacked by seagulls. My dad said they could sense panic. I was definitely panicking. The seagulls kept like hovering over our table and I was like...Just go away!! Not fun. In the souvenir shop I bought a postcard and a keychain, both of which I left in my uncle's apartment. Oh well. I can get it back later.

After all that, we got back into the car and went through the Holland Tunnel and then we were in Manhattan! Woo hoo. And we drove over to my Tito Walter's apartment building. He lives on Park Avenue, 280 Park Avenue to be specific. Aren't you all just so jealous? Haha. When we got there, the doorman held open the...door...yeah lol. And then we went up to my uncle's apartment, which is on the 14th floor. Which, in case you have no perception of height, is extremely high up. At least it was for me. So anyway, we ate some pizza and watched some Hey Arnold, and then we got all spiffied up and took the bus to Harlem and then walked to Rockefeller Center. We watched people ice skate, and took more pictures. I took a picture with NBC studios and then we walked all the way over to Times Square. That was pretty cool. I've never seen Times Square anywhere except for on the TV. I got a picture with MTV Studios, and I saw the big Cup Of Noodles, and I went into the Virgin Megastore to buy the CD that I am listening to right now, and I went into Sephora for the first time and bought a $24 dollar clear lip gloss by Stila. I felt kind of stupid doing that, and my mom got super mad at me, but I wanted one of those since I saw it in a magazine. And I mean you can't get Stila anywhere else except Sephora. Which I think is pretty stupid. I won't be buying another $24 lip gloss anytime soon, but I will be asking my cousin Kay to buy me something from Sephora for my birthday (which, by the way, is in 22 days). And also in Times Square, we went to the super huge Toys "R" Us. There was a big Ferris wheel there, and I really wanted to ride it, but it was like 6:00 and the tickets were for like 9:50. The little cars (whatever they're called) were so cute. One of them was Monopoly, and one of the was Nickelodeon, one was M&Ms, and one was E.T!! I totally wanted to go on that one, just to take a picture of Lindsay's reaction hahahahaha. Okay. After Toys "R" Us, we went to the Planet Hollywood store, and I saw a whole bunch of stuff I wanted but I couldn't get because my parents were like "Look Melissa! This shirt is $28 dollars! That's only two dollars more than your little paintbrush filled with clear mineral oil!" I was like RRRRRR. And then we went to Starbucks and sat on the floor because there were no tables. Which was really stupid. Who wants that? A coffee shop with no tables. Whatever.

After Starbucks we went to the Lunt-Fontanne theater to watch Beauty and the Beast. It was so amazing--Lindsay doesn't know this, but I cried three times. Music, movies, and musical theater do that sort of thing to me. I get really overwhelmed. This was my second time seeing Beauty and the Beast live--I saw it once in theater camp when I was like eleven, so I don't really remember that. I haven't seen any other Broadway shows live. I have seen them on TV and stuff, and sometimes I even cry then. Or wait maybe I have seen another Broadway show. Hm. I have to ask my mom.

After Beauty and the Beast, we drove back to my uncle's apartment, and we went up onto the roof to see if we could see the Twin Towers lights from there. We couldn't. It turns out that my uncle's apartment is too close to the World Trade Centers for us to see it. But we did see the red, white, and blue Empire State Building, and the Chrysler Building, and we saw the New York skyline at night. And that was pretty cool.

After that I was pretty tired so I got into my fun DS pajamas and tried to get to sleep. But then I was watching the Disney Channel and my parents and aunt and uncle kept talking the whole time. I eventually fell asleep around 12:30, I think. It is so hot in my uncle's apartment.

The next morning my mother woke me up by hitting me with pillows. So. That was a pleasant start to my day. That was also about the time I started to get sick of my family. Then Lindsay, my sister and I got into our bathing suits and went up to the pool. I don't really like to go to pools, partly because they involve bathing suits, but mostly because of the whole drowning thing. I basically went because I knew my sister and Lindsay wanted to go swimming. So I stood on the boundary line between 4 feet deep and 5 feet deep, and tried to communicate with Lindsay who was at the deep end, and also tried to monitor my sister, who I instructed not to go past four feet. If I'm afraid of anything besides drowning myself, I'm afraid of my sister drowning. Once, when she was 3 or 4, she jumped into 4 feet deep water at my aunt's pool, and I ran in after her and grabbed her before she drowned. But now that she's gotten more daring, she likes to try and get herself over to the deep end. As long as my dad is around, I'm not worried, because he can swim. But if he's not, I feel totally helpless because if she drowns in the deep end, I can't save her. It's not a very good feeling to have. It's one of the main reasons I regret never learning how to swim.

Anyway, this arrangement (my sister at the shallow end, me in the middle, and Lindsay in 6 feet deep water) didn't work out very well. We (or at least I) got a little bored and I was glad when my mom showed up. I jumped out of that pool, man. She was all like "No no I didn't mean you had to get out now" but I took it that way. So I showered and got dressed and then we went back to the apartment.

After that, we drove over to Ground Zero. We only got a few pictures from far away. I really really really wanted to go on the platform. Like more than anything. But nobody really wanted to go, because it would take too long to get tickets, and then we'd have to wait until like 5:00 in the afternoon, and then we'd have to wait in line again. I was extremely upset. But I think I hid it pretty well. Instead we went to South Seaport and ate lunch in the big fun mall. We took pictures with the Brooklyn and Manhattan Bridges, then we went around the mall. I didn't really see anything I wanted. Looking back, I should have gotten an "I <3 NY" shirt, just as a souvenir, but oh well what now? The moment's over. Besides, I had already spent a lot of money.

Afterwards we went to Central Park. I wanted so badly to see the Alice in Wonderland statue. But once again, we didn't get around to it, because Central Park is humongous. I was pretty upset about that too, but that's something I can always come back and do later. After Central Park, we went into the big FAO Schwarz and I bought some candy. My mom had said we could walk around for a half an hour, and I thought we had made it on time, but when I saw her in the entrance she looked pretty pissed. She was all "What? You were having fun? That's against the rules. Let's go, we're not on the excessively strict agenda that makes it so that everytime you start to have fun, it's time to leave." Yeah. That was about the time I was ready to go home. But then we went to this awesome Italian restaurant called La Bella, and everything was right again. Lol yes food makes everything better. I had really good Caesar salad and really good pizza and really good tiramisu. It was a good last meal in NY.

Then we went to back to the apartment and got everything all packed. And oh yeah! Then my dad made me and Lindsay play a duet for Tita Carmela and Tito Walter. Not a cool thing. I don't think it was as big of a deal to Lindsay, because she doesn't really need to to practice the thing we played because she's good. But I'd only practiced it once. And also I'm not very good at the flute in the first place. I don't think my aunt and uncle noticed (they really liked it, actually) but I know Lindsay noticed and I know I noticed. But it's okay, I'll get over it.

Then we loaded everything into the car and we dropped Tito Walter and Tita Carmela off at church. That was when the separation anxiety kicked in. I didn't want to leave. There are just some things you can do in New York that would definitely not be acceptable elsewhere. But then we were driving away and I saw the skyline, and I finally saw the lights that were put up in place of the Twin Towers. That was extremely cool. Then I thought, even though this trip was only two days long, even though Lindsay and I almost got run over sixty times in Times Square, and even though I got a blister on my big toe from walking so much, and even though I didn't get to go to some of the places I had planned on going to, this trip was worth it. I mean, just being able to go to New York with my best friend is an experience all in itself. I did so much in those two days, and most of those things I will remember for a long time, if not forever.

After that, my separation anxiety was gone. My mom says maybe in the summer, she and I can just take the bus up to the city for a day, and do some hard-core shopping. And I asked if maybe after I turn sixteen I can go to MTV Studios and bring a few friends and try to get on TRL. She gave me a "don't push it" kind of look, but said she'd think about it.

This entry is way too long, and even though I had stuff to say about Easter Sunday, I'll save it for my next entry.

5 more days till Atlantic City!

Falling Upward ~ Falling Downward

Miss Anything?

i'm portable - 2005-02-16

busy making big mistakes - 2004-06-12

i'm sorry I know that's a strange way to tell you - 2004-03-21

hello darkness - 2004-03-17

another night slips away - 2004-03-15

All words � MM 2001-03

>Where<
Now
History

>Who<
Bio
Profile
Cast
Picture
Survey
Ring
Clique
Fans

>Tell<
Email
Notes
IM
Guests

>Fun<
Quizzes
Wish
Random Entry
The-Spark
Reviews

>Design<
Create

Hosted