2002-07-05 ~ 10:57 p.m.
we are family

Listening to:

Listening to: John Mayer's Room For Squares, my cousin Anna's favorite album. It's actually pretty good.

So wow, entry number 4 for today. I've got way too much free time on my hands.

So hmmm today Lindsay came over and we just did normal boring best friend stuff, and I took some pictures. My two aunts any my cousin (who is actually old enough to be my aunt) are here, and they're sleeping over. Which means I get to sleep in the basement. Wahoo. Did you sense the sarcasm there? Anyway, my cousin's son, James, is here too and he's so...precocious, I guess, is the word for him. My dad likes him a lot, probably cause he never had a son :( Aw. Well anyway he bought him a remote (or "mote") control monster truck, and they looked through the telescope, and he was just really nice to him and I was like...so does that mean I have to act like a four year old BOY to get you to be nice to me?! Haha just kidding, my dad is nice to me too. Sometimes.

Anyway it was really cute to see my dad interacting with a little kid, cause he gets totally into it and, well, I can't explain it because I don't know how he does it. I'm like my mom. My mom was always the one breaking up the fun because it was time to brush my teeth. My dad was the one giving me piggyback rides and letting me jump off the fireplace mantle. Cause he always caught me, no matter how long he pretended he wasn't going to. Aw. Those are such precious memories. Sometimes I feel bad for people like Lindsay who don't have a kind of balanced relationship with their parents, but then I realize that it's really not my place to feel bad for her. She gets along so well with her mother, and her mother can do so much, that she doesn't even really have a need for a father. She once said to me that if she had to choose between her parents, like if they got a divorce or something, she'd totally choose her mom. And I was like, wow, that's really intense. I wish I could be able to make that decision like that.

Cause I mean if that ever happened, I don't know what I would do. My mom has really good judgment, and she takes my side a lot for things that she knows will affect me positively in the future. For example, she signed my sister and I up for summer camp when my dad didn't want us to go. And she was on my side when I wanted to join the Spanish exchange program. Also, it's really nice to talk with my mom. She gives a lot of insight on things I couldn't ever talk about with my dad, like popularity issues, and sex and relationships and stuff. And besides, she's my mother. She was only like the figure of beauty that I looked up to when I was little. But on the other hand, my father is the musical one. I don't know what I'd do if I couldn't just run up to him and be like "Hey Daddy who wrote 'Blackbird'? You know the one that goes 'Dun dun dun nu nu nu nu nu nu'?" And he always knows the answers, too. He appreciates my talent for figuring out harmonies, because he understands what it takes. He's also the Funny One. My mother does not understand sarcasm in the least. My dad, although he's really corny, is the only one who intentionally cracks jokes. If we laugh at my mom, it's usually because she fell down or something, or because she's being slow. And then she gets mad anyway.

Come to think of it, both of my parents have pretty bad tempers. Which is why, if the got divorced, I may want to just go live with Vanessa's parents.

I don't really want to think about divorces anymore because it's making me sad and depressed so I'm gonna go watch Zoolander and cheer up. Okay? Okay.

Falling Upward ~ Falling Downward

Miss Anything?

i'm portable - 2005-02-16

busy making big mistakes - 2004-06-12

i'm sorry I know that's a strange way to tell you - 2004-03-21

hello darkness - 2004-03-17

another night slips away - 2004-03-15

All words � MM 2001-03

>Where<
Now
History

>Who<
Bio
Profile
Cast
Picture
Survey
Ring
Clique
Fans

>Tell<
Email
Notes
IM
Guests

>Fun<
Quizzes
Wish
Random Entry
The-Spark
Reviews

>Design<
Create

Hosted