2002-08-02 ~ 11:36 p.m.
it's like, you know?

Listening to:

Listening to: The TV. Premium Blend's on. This is the best show ever made. Just to inform you all.

Well my mom's officially in the pissiest mood ever. EVER. So I've been avoiding her. She always gets this way just before we have a party/get-together. She goes all bucknutty trying to clean and cook and clean some more and cook some more and do laundry and do more things that will just make her more stressed out. But hey, her life, not mine.

Anyway, Lindsay and I had a most enlightening conversation today. We tried to realize how many times per sentence that we speak the word "like." This is a little sampler of what the discussion was like:

Melissa: But I mean, it's not like we-- *clamps hand over mouth*
Lindsay: *laughs at Melissa's folly*
Melissa: Grrr. We don't know we're saying it when we do.
Lindsay: Yeah! We have this, like--
Melissa: *points at Lindsay in a "You said it!" manner*
Lindsay: It's almost like we--aw, man!!!

It is near impossible for me to rid my system of that word. Like like like. Like Oh my God Becky Look at her butt it is so big. We just can't help it! It's a Jersey thing, I'm positive of it. We absolutely do not realize that we're saying it unless someone points it out to me. In the course of one sentence, I'll say the word "like" about sixteen times.

But this conversation was actually a really big revelation. We've discovered all the ways that the word "like" can be used. It's quite versatile. For instance, you can use the word "like":

In substitution for the word "said" (given that a linking verb is present)
Example: "I asked my mom about it and she was like 'Well I don't know but it's your choice.'"

When giving an example or painting a verbal picture
"It's like, if I put something off for that long, I'd end up, like, failing all my classes or something."

While deeply exaggerrating a situation
Example: "There were so many people there! I swear, there must have been like 50 million!"

Anytime you are at a loss for words, or you are trying to think of something to say
Example: "She's so, like...Like, she's...I don't know...it's like...sometimes, I'm just thinking like...yeah."

So you see the ways that we Jersey girls use our "like." It looks so awfully Clueless when written down, but trust me, you get used to it, especially if you've grown up around people who constantly say it. The word "like" is not the mark of a valley girl where I come from. It is something that even guys say. Yeah huh. I can't think of a single kid my age who doesn't use it at least 20 times a day.

But I mean, there are other colloquial expressions that are overused in other regions, right? I think "you know?" (I just love this shirt, you know?) is pretty famous, as is "all" (I was all, no way, and he was all, way, but then I was all, whatever). So I guess maybe I'm not the only one. But it's still really weird.

Falling Upward ~ Falling Downward

Miss Anything?

i'm portable - 2005-02-16

busy making big mistakes - 2004-06-12

i'm sorry I know that's a strange way to tell you - 2004-03-21

hello darkness - 2004-03-17

another night slips away - 2004-03-15

All words � MM 2001-03

>Where<
Now
History

>Who<
Bio
Profile
Cast
Picture
Survey
Ring
Clique
Fans

>Tell<
Email
Notes
IM
Guests

>Fun<
Quizzes
Wish
Random Entry
The-Spark
Reviews

>Design<
Create

Hosted