2002-08-19 ~ 10:32 a.m.
non-vacation-related

Listening to:

This is the entry I wrote last night, after I lost my first one.

Listening to: Nothing.

GOD FREAKING DAMMIT I just wrote a whole entry and then did something weird and the whole window disappeared! ARGH Diaryland.

ANYWAY. I don't even remember how I started my entry. I was in a good mood, actually. But now I'm NOT. I wanted to wait till tomorrow so I could write an entry about my vacation, but a bunch of things happened today that are much easier to talk about and less time-consuming.

So, all my friends got their class schedules for this year. Except for me, that is. I'm nervous to see if I have any classes with Lindsay this year. We've never had any classes together, except for when we didn't know each other, of course. But I also want to see my sched because I think that the order of my classes will be crucial for me. I don't want to be in a super-hard class at the very end of the day, when the last thing I want to do is think. Last year I had Spanish eighth period, thank God. Linds really lucked out--she had gym.

So I went over Lindsay's house today and gave her the souvenirs I bought her. I got her a keychain with facts about her birthday on it, and a little white bear that has a heart-shaped tag around its neck that says "Best Friend." Awww.

And she gave me this framed cross stitch of a moon and sun and stars to hang in my bedroom, that she'd been working on since before I left. It looks really nice and you can tell she worked hard on it. Cross-stitching seems really tedious. I don't think I have the patience to do something like that. But then again, I also don't really understand how it all works. When she gave me the cross stitch I felt really lucky. It's not every best friend who'll stitch you a moon for no reason.

So Kate talked me into it. I'm going for another year of dance. Okay, she didn't exactly talk me into it, I just thought about it and realized that I need something that doesn't relate to either music or writing, to add a little variety. And if it makes my load too heavy, I'll drop it. No big deal. I'm looking forward to this year, anyway. Kate, Jess and I will all be in Linda's class, and I'll have Norma Jean's class to deal with too. Norma Jeans' class has become very routine to me. It's nice to have something that you feel like you're experienced in, even if you're not.

Ms. Hunt, one of the Spanish teachers who runs the student exchange program, left a message with my mom today. There's gonna be a parent-student exchange program meeting on the 28th, at my school. I'm eager to learn more about the program, but kind of scared to see who else is going to Spain with me. I don't know any kids my age who are doing this. Signing up for this program makes me feel very grown up--it's something I chose to do myself. I didn't look around to find a friend to sign up with, like I usually do for school activities. My parents didn't force me into it, like all my after-school deals. I chose to sign up without any influence from anyone, which means I have no one to blame but myself if something goes wrong. But somehow, all that weight on my shoulders doesn't seem intimidating at all. I feel independent and responsible. Guess our little Melissa's growing up, eh?

But not really. Because today my parents bought the Disney channel, and I totally flipped out. I am so excited. And I just CANNOT hide it. The Disney channel and I, we go way back. Every time my family goes on vacation, we have the Disney channel in our room. And I watch it day and night, and find so many Special Boys, and a whole bunch of shows that are just so so fabulous. And now I can have it in my own home. Wahoo. I'm sure I'll get used to it in time. But for now, I'm still a little overexcited.

I don't believe that there was anything else I wanted to talk about. Oh. Yes there is, but I can elaborate on that stuff later. Bye bye.

Falling Upward ~ Falling Downward

Miss Anything?

i'm portable - 2005-02-16

busy making big mistakes - 2004-06-12

i'm sorry I know that's a strange way to tell you - 2004-03-21

hello darkness - 2004-03-17

another night slips away - 2004-03-15

All words � MM 2001-03

>Where<
Now
History

>Who<
Bio
Profile
Cast
Picture
Survey
Ring
Clique
Fans

>Tell<
Email
Notes
IM
Guests

>Fun<
Quizzes
Wish
Random Entry
The-Spark
Reviews

>Design<
Create

Hosted