2002-08-24 ~ 9:03 p.m.
singin in the raaaiin

Listening to:

Listening to: Billy Gilman's version of "Little Bitty Pretty One." It's quite giggle-inducing.

Today started out pretty crappy, because my mom was in a pissy mood. Don't ask me why, at first I thought it was about the bedrooms, but then she was organizing the basement closet, and like throwing stuff around and being all scary, so I just went upstairs and decided that it must be about storage, or maybe lack thereof.

But afterwards, I went downstairs and everything was all neat and tidy and she was like *grins* "What shall we do for lunch?" I was like riiiight. But anyway. The day went much better after that. I grilled burgers for lunch, which smelled like Spam and tasted like the soles of a shoe, because I used the George Foreman grill. Now the George Foreman grill is perfect for, say, grilled cheese sandwiches, or hot dogs, or even strips of chicken. But for burgers? Not so hot. It grilled them into charcoal briquettes. So, sorry George. It wasn't a "knockout" deal.

Then we headed off to IKEA. Again. Now I don't mind going to IKEA, because they have a lot of neat stuff, but this time wasn't so neat. There were about 217496095603877 people there. It was all the college students doing last minute furniture shopping, I could tell. But did they all have to go to IKEA on THIS PARTICULAR DAY??? Argh. It was frustrating. But my family did not argue once the entire trip, which was exactly the opposite of what happened when we went to get my furniture.

Oh, by the way, we were buying furniture for my sister's bedroom. Yeah. We got her the exact same stuff as me??? Whatever. I guess I don't mind. My family and I were talking about it in the car, and we decided that the kind of furniture that we buy at IKEA is the kind of furniture that you don't brag about, and frankly, the kind that you don't even really notice at all. It serves its purpose, and it looks kinda cute too. So while I am kinda mad that she gets all new stuff instead of getting my hand me downs (which is what is supposed to happen when you are the younger sister), I also don't really give a crap. Thank you have a nice day.

The only good thing about buying her the exact same furniture as mine was that we got in and out of that IKEA as fast as was humanly possible. But then my mom wanted to go back inside to look at non-furniture items and also to eat. So it took a little longer than expected. But then there was the drive home.

Can you say "flash flood warning"? It was pretty scary. There was a huge thunderstorm and we were right in the center of it. The lightning was striking the cars on either side of us and the thunder was shaking our car around so much that my mom and I ended up switching seats. Okay maybe not. But it was still kinda scary. And it started hailing too, EEP!

It was all right though, because my family was being uncharacteristally agreeable. That's right, even my mom. We were singing songs and making thunderstorm jokes, and, well, it gets kinda graphic. So I'll leave out the gory details. All I can say is, it was a nice way to spend a car ride home in a thunderstorm on a Saturday evening.

So that was my day. Yippee for me! Tomorrow I'm playing at church, which should be bushels of fun. But Lindsay has to go straight home afterwards because my mom is being a Fun Nazi and is not letting me be fancy-free. But more about that later. I'll just go.

Falling Upward ~ Falling Downward

Miss Anything?

i'm portable - 2005-02-16

busy making big mistakes - 2004-06-12

i'm sorry I know that's a strange way to tell you - 2004-03-21

hello darkness - 2004-03-17

another night slips away - 2004-03-15

All words � MM 2001-03

>Where<
Now
History

>Who<
Bio
Profile
Cast
Picture
Survey
Ring
Clique
Fans

>Tell<
Email
Notes
IM
Guests

>Fun<
Quizzes
Wish
Random Entry
The-Spark
Reviews

>Design<
Create

Hosted