2002-11-17 ~ 10:24 p.m.
a-vee mar-iii-ah

Listening to:

Listening to: The Punky Brewster theme song! Woo!

I was semi-productive today, aren't you proud? I finished Joy Luck Club and studied for Bio, and also did a little of my cell catalogue! Yay semi-productiveness.

But half of my day was spent playing flute in church because there were THREE FREAKING BAPTISMS TODAY. And of course Fr. John spoke so extremely slowly and like forgot everything he wanted to say. But it's okay. It's no big deal, really. Please don't strike me down, God.

I personally think that I think about religion and spirituality more than the average 15 year old...I mean I'm not really the one to ask, because I haven't really surveyed anyone or anything, but just in my opinion, I think that I spend more time speculating on my religion and my life in relation to my religion, than other kids. I sometimes stop myself from doing things by asking myself if it would be "Christian" of me to do it. I think that what has happened was I was raised being told to believe in Catholic principles, and that I just gradually actually started to truly believe. I support most of the principles that Catholicism stands for. I believe that when you get married, you make a spiritual covenant that really shouldn't be broken, no matter what. Of course, that principle needs to be applied to the realities of the present--sometimes it really is better for everyone when the parents get divorced. But all I know is, when I get older, if I have troubles with my husband, I'm going to at least try to save my marriage, not just give up and say it isn't worth it. The only reason I would ever have to divorce my future husband would be if he cheated on me. Then the trust would be completely gone. What can you do with that?

I know I'm going to look back on that paragraph later on in my life and be like ::shakes head:: oh, how naive I was...But this is how I feel now, and I just felt like saying something.

I have more to say about that topic but I think one opinion is enough. Around Christmas the spirituality entries will come shooting out because Christmastime is such a deeply religious holiday for me and my family...although we enjoy the presents, I'm pretty sure we always realized that the reason we were celebrating so much was because we were honoring the birth of Jesus Christ--I don't think any of us have ever lost sight of that. Sure, when I'm shopping with my mom and she's frustrated that she can't find the stupid Skateboarder Shelly that my cousin Angela wants, then we might not be thinking about how glorious Our Lord and Saviour is, but on Christmas Eve, when we sit down together at the dining table with the good plates and silverware, and the lights are dim and Karen Carpenter is crooning "Ave Maria" out of the stereo--when the whole Christmas mood is in place, and the feeling is there--that's when I am truly grateful for everything I've been given, and that's when I feel most in touch with God.

Expect more entries like this one, guys. I'm religious--it's in my blood. Don't like it? Get used to it :P

Falling Upward ~ Falling Downward

Miss Anything?

i'm portable - 2005-02-16

busy making big mistakes - 2004-06-12

i'm sorry I know that's a strange way to tell you - 2004-03-21

hello darkness - 2004-03-17

another night slips away - 2004-03-15

All words � MM 2001-03

>Where<
Now
History

>Who<
Bio
Profile
Cast
Picture
Survey
Ring
Clique
Fans

>Tell<
Email
Notes
IM
Guests

>Fun<
Quizzes
Wish
Random Entry
The-Spark
Reviews

>Design<
Create

Hosted