2002-12-01 ~ 7:58 p.m.
now ya can eclipse it

Listening to:

Listening to: "Waiting on a line of greens and blues/Just to be the next to beee with you!" I love this song. Wahoo.

Today we put up the tree!!! How exciting. No really, it was. Lindsay came over and helped. It looks be-a-u-tiful. The kind of ornaments that we put up are the fancy department store kind and they're really nice. We never really had a general mood to our Christmas decor; in previous years we just kind of put up whatever we thought was nice and/or Christmasy. But for the last 3 or 4 years our house during Christmas has been either red, green, gold, or a combination of the 3. It's nice to have a real theme, especially when it's all put together. True, I sometimes long for the days when we didn't have to be extra-super-careful with the ornaments, because they weren't made of really thin glass, but I like the way it looks and it still means a lot to us.

Okay, that ^ paragraph was really boring. Sorry 'bout that.

Ack! I didn't even talk about New York!! Ack!

I had the best time. Something about that city just gives me an air of freedom--independence, I dare say--that allows me to feel less self-conscious about myself. I think it's because there are so many people that everyone is trying so hard just to mind their own business that no one even notices you. Manhattan is the perfect city for single life. I'd like to live there but I know I'll move out once I decide I want to meet someone and start a family. The city is no place to raise children--at least not in my opinion. I know that sounds haughty, but hey if you want to raise your children in New York, I have no problem with that. Personally, I would like to live in the 'burbs once I get married. But yes. Right.

Les Miz was fantastic! I was crying the whole time. I don't think I can even use words to explain this. All I can say is that I can't believe they're closing the show. It's so good. The cast was amazing, too. They make singing well look so effortless. The woman who played Eponine was great. She signed my playbill :D Yay. I only got two other autographs--the little girl who played Cosette, and the guy who played Javert. But hey, I'm new at this, not a season veteran like Julie. I think we are going to see more Broadways shows this year because my mom found this great website where you can get tickets for like 60% off. But it's a secret, I'm not telling where. My parents want to see Phantom and Mamma Mia. I want to see those plus The Producers, Movin' Out, Hairspray, Into the Woods...Well, let's just say I want to see virtually EVERY show on Broadway right now. We're not seeing them all this year, but I want to. I just want to be back in the city. I'm not sure what draws me there so much. My cousin Kay, who was with us yesterday, says that I must just be a natural-born city girl. Yayyy me?

The one thing about NYC that I don't like, however, is driving. But when I live there I'm not going to drive, anyway. It's so stressful. I feel like I can't breathe. Of course, walking around is a different story. But driving? Uncool.

Speaking of driving, yesterday our van stalled in the middle of Chinatown.

Yup.

Apparently a piece of the engine(?) came out as we were driving. I don't know. Don't ask me. All I know is that a) we were really lucky to be in New York when this happened, and not like, Iowa, and b) we don't have a van anymore and we are now using my uncle's Isuzu Trooper. At least we have a replacement car. But this is good because we needed a new van anyway. We've spent so much already trying to repair this one (which, by the way, is from 1994), so I don't know if we'll be getting a new one anytime soon. So I guess we'll be using the Isuzu for a while. Ah well. As the tow truck driver said so eloquently, "Sh-t happens (censored for the benefit of Lindsay)."

Aaand that's really all that's been happening. Yup. Now I'm going to go have some more cheesecake. Bye!

Falling Upward ~ Falling Downward

Miss Anything?

i'm portable - 2005-02-16

busy making big mistakes - 2004-06-12

i'm sorry I know that's a strange way to tell you - 2004-03-21

hello darkness - 2004-03-17

another night slips away - 2004-03-15

All words � MM 2001-03

>Where<
Now
History

>Who<
Bio
Profile
Cast
Picture
Survey
Ring
Clique
Fans

>Tell<
Email
Notes
IM
Guests

>Fun<
Quizzes
Wish
Random Entry
The-Spark
Reviews

>Design<
Create

Hosted