2002-12-20 ~ 10:54 p.m.
when you're standing at the crossroads (not the Britney Spears one...)

Listening to:

Listening to: "I get knocked DOWN! But! I get up again. You're ne-ever gonna keep me down. No no."

Today was the last day of school before the break. This day = pointless. I did absolutely nothing. Well, actually, not absolutely nothing. I won a New England Patriots bumper sticker for knowing that Roy Orbison sang Pretty Woman. Go Melissa, it's your birthday.

I'm so unbelievably bored. All 22 of the people on my buddy list decided that today was No-Update-Ever-Again Day, and consequently there was no living vicariously through other people's lives. That's no fun. I ended browsing random diaries in the member's area. It amazes me how many shallow, vacuous people there are in the world. Not like I'm one to judge. But at least sometimes my diary reflects a small side of me that is not shallow and/or vacuous. I don't know, I guess I'm already in a bad mood to begin with.

And now I will proceed to talk about several shallow and vacuous details of my day:

Number one, I wasn't allowed to go with Lindsay to this baby-sitting thing that she is doing until like midnight. And she won't be online, because nothing ever turns out in my favor. And she didn't write an entry for me to read over and over or anything.

And also, SHM wasn't online at all today. Once again today he came up to me and attempted conversation (this was his attempt: "Driver's Ed.") but then some more of my friends walked up and joined in the conversation and I think he got weirded out by not knowing anyone, so he just walked away. Raaa my stupid friends. Ahem, just kidding guys you rock!

And then there's the people in my family. My mom's wrapping present, my dad's on his laptop and watching the Sixers/Lakers game (I would be watching, but I don't feel like watching us get BEATEN TO A PULP), and my sister, who I wasn't really counting on, is just on her computer and talking to her little friends. Boring boring boring.

Tomorrow I am supposed to go shopping and then go to the movies with Lauren and Kaitlin. Then go back to Kaitlin's. But this plan has not been approved by Kaitlin yet, so what can I do? You would think that winter break would be more entertaining.

A huge, massive, enormous thank you goes out to Karen, who gave me the most amazing Christmas present ever: A $40 gift certificate to Sephora. Ahem. AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH. Do you know how much I can buy there if I choose the right brands? Do you?? Eeek. I'm so excited. I'm going to head over to the site after I'm finished this entry.

Also big thanks to Julie for giving me an adorable little stuffed moose with Bath and Body Works merchandise. I know she didn't have much to spend on gifts this year, so I really appreciated the gesture. Yayy for friends who like me!! Heehee.

I have succeeded in downloading 40 a capella style cover songs, most of them recorded/performed by college ensembles. Most of them are UPenn Off The Beat (who are VERY good) and the Brown Derbies (also VERY good). Big thanks to mzauberman for semi-introducing me to this genre. Because you see, I had previously believed that all of these songs that I downloaded were Rockapella songs. But he pointed out that they don't generally do covers, and I was probably listening to these college groups.

Consequently, I immediately searched under the names he recommended, and found about a MILLION awesome downloads. Yay, I love a capella music! I have enough for 2 CDs worth of songs. I haven't even tried searching the other groups he suggested, either. Muahaha.

:( Today my parents told me that they ordered this VERY cool Starry Night Mobile from this VERY cool Van Gogh website. They ordered it before Thanksgiving, as a Christmas present. But today my dad got a call that they were ALL SOLD OUT and I wouldn't be able to get one by Christmas! :( :( Why??? It's so pretty too, and it matches my bedroom perfectly. I'm actually happy that they even ordered it at all. It's kind of expensive and I didn't think I really needed it, but it was the thing I wanted most of all. Oh well, I can do without it. Maybe I'll save up for it and buy it myself.

I'm resorting to the most insignificant things to talk about, simply because I want this entry to last longer. I'm beyond bored now--I'm desperate. And this entry does not seem to be curing my boredom. So I'm off in search of something better to do! Goodnight, D-land!

Falling Upward ~ Falling Downward

Miss Anything?

i'm portable - 2005-02-16

busy making big mistakes - 2004-06-12

i'm sorry I know that's a strange way to tell you - 2004-03-21

hello darkness - 2004-03-17

another night slips away - 2004-03-15

All words � MM 2001-03

>Where<
Now
History

>Who<
Bio
Profile
Cast
Picture
Survey
Ring
Clique
Fans

>Tell<
Email
Notes
IM
Guests

>Fun<
Quizzes
Wish
Random Entry
The-Spark
Reviews

>Design<
Create

Hosted