2003-01-03 ~ 9:39 p.m.
let the music give you the power to...something...something

Listening to:

Listening to: "And I said, what about Breakfast At Tiffany's? She said, I think I remember the film and as I recall I think that we both kinda liked it, and I said, well that's one thing we've got!" The a cappella version, of course.

Not a very exciting day, today. School = boring. Home life = boring. The people around me = boring.

SHM did talk to me today, but only for like two seconds, and then he was away, and then he signed off. Ah well. I've decided just not to dwell on anything anymore. So moving on.

I think I've lost all motivation for EVERYTHING. I don't want to do anymore schoolwork. I don't really feel the need to go out with friends. Even writing this entry is taking too much effort right now. I guess it's winter depression or something. Or I could just be procrastinating. Yeah, I don't want to do that 200-point History project. Don't wanna. Don't wanna. You can't make me :P

At least I am still motivated to, like, eat, drink and wake up. Otherwise you could just consider me dead. I am such a bum.

Oh, also I'm motivated to play the piano. Today I sight-read "Bohemian Rhapsody," which I stole from my piano teacher's house (aka she gave it to me because I was looking at it). I got through the whole piece (6 minutes and something seconds) with only about 3 mistakes. I wanted to go back and work on those sections, because I decided that it's a really fun song to be able to play, but then my mom made me practice REAL songs. Pfft. "Bohemian Rhapsody" is the realest song I know.

You know, I've had this diary for almost a year (on January 5th!) and I don't think I've ever mentioned the piano pieces that I work on every week. Well now's a better time than ever, yeah? Yeah. Right now I'm working on the first movement of Beethoven's Sonata Pathetique (you would know it if you heard it) and a two-part invention by Bach (#14). I pretty much focus all my practice time on the Pathetique. It only took me three days to learn the invention so I am working on the dynamics and the fluidity of the piece. I always do my Bachs first, as a warm-up.

Let's talk about Melissa's practicing habits. On good days, I will start with a section that I know I have trouble with, and play it, pick out the mistakes I am making, and play it over and over again the right way until the right way is ingrained into my mind and etched for all eternity. Lather, rinse, repeat.

On bad days, I'll play through the whole piece, mistakes and everything, and just pretend that tomorrow I'll have a good day.

I'm such an awful, awful musician. I want to be good and yet I just don't try. Honestly, the only pieces I've had that have been really flawless (or that I have at least been satisfied with), are Mozart's Sonata in C and Fantasia. You'd all recognize them if you heard them. Those are consequently two of my favorite songs to play when I'm bored. I think that the reason I did so well with them is because I had a very positive attitude about the songs when I first started practicing them.

If only I could be like that for every song.

For instance. I really do like the Pathetique. It's one of the most impressive and challenging pieces I've been given. But I just can't get into it. I need to be motivated.

Which brings me to my original point. No motivation. Wah wah, I'm so bored and lonely. I don't WANNA do work. Stupid school >:O

Okay, this has been a boring and un-entertaining get-mad-at-the-world entry. I sincerely apologize and I promise that (after I finish my History--yeeeah, I'm gonna do it) I'll have better entries with webcam pics! Weeee. Goodnight, D-land.

Falling Upward ~ Falling Downward

Miss Anything?

i'm portable - 2005-02-16

busy making big mistakes - 2004-06-12

i'm sorry I know that's a strange way to tell you - 2004-03-21

hello darkness - 2004-03-17

another night slips away - 2004-03-15

All words � MM 2001-03

>Where<
Now
History

>Who<
Bio
Profile
Cast
Picture
Survey
Ring
Clique
Fans

>Tell<
Email
Notes
IM
Guests

>Fun<
Quizzes
Wish
Random Entry
The-Spark
Reviews

>Design<
Create

Hosted