2003-02-13 ~ 11:10 p.m.
thats how long

Listening to:

Listening to: "We didn't start the fire/it was always burning/since the world was turning." Wise words during this time of paranoia and conflict. Oh yes Billy Joel.

So the whole foreign threat thing has gotten very real to me all of a sudden. This is some scary shit, folks. I'm a naturally paranoid person, but I've never actually been in a truly life-threatening situation. The idea of death does not register for me. I'm 15--16 in 2 months and 10 days. I'm a kid. I'm invincible. But if this biological warfare goes on, I won't be spared simply because I'm a kid. It's scary.

One thing that has helped me put things into perspective is that in my History class, we spend a good amount of time every day talking about the current situation and what we all think about it. We talk about our fears, our theories on why this is happening to us. Most of all it has helped me to feel better that there are others who have much more fear than I.

When you think about it, though--and I'm not sure if I truly believe this yet, I'm sure that during the Cold War people feared for their lives just as much as we do now. People expected the world to blow up at any given second. It seems like every generation of America has lived in fear of something. And eventually that "something" has blown over. Not saying that North Korea and Iraq are just going to surrender and hand over all their weapons, but if history really does tend to repeat itself, then I think that we may come out of this alive. Scarred, yes, but alive nonetheless.

Unless, of course, this particular situation is signalling the fall of our empire. You know, the fall that every great empire experiences, where it is defeated, ceases to exist, and is then replaced by another fledgling empire? Perfect. I'm moving to Canada.

On a lighter note, the Sex God apparently remembers my name! I'm so damn happy. I hope I get to see him next week.

Wow my life looks so insignificant compared to the real problems of the world. Yucckkk I'm selfish. Ah well. What can yo do? Besides change, I guess. Hmm. ANYWAY. Goodnight, D-land.

Falling Upward ~ Falling Downward

Miss Anything?

i'm portable - 2005-02-16

busy making big mistakes - 2004-06-12

i'm sorry I know that's a strange way to tell you - 2004-03-21

hello darkness - 2004-03-17

another night slips away - 2004-03-15

All words � MM 2001-03

>Where<
Now
History

>Who<
Bio
Profile
Cast
Picture
Survey
Ring
Clique
Fans

>Tell<
Email
Notes
IM
Guests

>Fun<
Quizzes
Wish
Random Entry
The-Spark
Reviews

>Design<
Create

Hosted