2003-02-19 ~ 10:42 p.m.
misunderstanding's all you see

Listening to:

Listening to: Some wav files I made of myself singing. YEESH.

Good God, guys, why didn't any of you tell me that my voice sucks?? I wouldn't have kept on randomly bursting into song and stuff...My God. I'm awful.

Well, I'm not that bad, I guess. Not like that Keith guy from American Idol (FUNNY STUFF tonight, by the way), but it was just a little weird to hear myself played back. Sounds kinda conceited, but I have always kind of taken pride in the fact that I can sing. But I never realized how icky my voice sounds because of all these technical things I don't have: I have no breathing/support skills whatsoever, so my sound is really really weak. I have absolutely no vibrato and I tend to go out of tune, even though I always thought that I have a pretty good sense of pitch--far from above average, but better than some. But hmph. Guess I was wrong.

AUGH I feel like I've misled myself all these years. You know who I sound like? I sound like J Lo, without all the special smooth-it-out effects they use in the studio. So basically, J Lo in concert. Actually I'm probably giving myself too much credit. I'm J Lo, when she was 10, in concert. Yeah. Argh stupid me.

But I guess you can't be good at everything, eh? This isn't that much of a big deal, just a small revelation. I mean, I'm still gonna do karaoke--and of course, still try out for American Idol next year with my friend Juliane. What, I never told you this plan?? We're going to pose as Puerto Rican twin sisters, and sing a medley of J Lo songs. Hmmm, how appropriate! Ohhh my. I'll change the subject now, haha.

We have another 2 hour delay ma�ana, hooray! Today was madness because none of the buses could navigate their way through the labyrinth of snow, so everyone got to school late. I guess that's what we're coming in late tomorrow? Ehhh whatever. 2 more hours of sleep! Muahaha.

Talked to Elena today, todo en espa�ol! Siento tan inteligente. She was so excited for me too! She was like "Goooood, goood, you've been practicing!!!" I was like, well, hee hee, ::bows:: thank you ::bows:: thank you. I hope that my Spanish really has improved and she's not just being polite. I think that I have learned a lot due to my own free will, even though I haven't been doing so well in Spanish.

Lindsay asked me earlier today if I wanted to become fluent, and I gave her a kind of equivocal answer because I didn't know the truth myself. Sure, I want--I absolutely want to become fluent in Spanish. But do I see it as a major long-time goal for myself? I'm not naturally good at languages like some people, so becoming bilingual is not a reality for me unless I really devote myself to the language. Who knows, maybe someday I will have the passion and energy to do that. But right now? I'm 15 years old. I love the language, but I'm not going to devote my time to it when there are so many other things in my life that I love as well. When I get older and I get my priorites straightened out, maybe I'll see where becoming fluent stands.

So yes, another unnecessary rant about a random topic. You know you loved it. ::winks::

I need to study a little more for Vocab, so I must finish up here. I probably won't go to bed for a little while, though--2 more hours of sleep, remember? :D Goodnight, D-land!

Falling Upward ~ Falling Downward

Miss Anything?

i'm portable - 2005-02-16

busy making big mistakes - 2004-06-12

i'm sorry I know that's a strange way to tell you - 2004-03-21

hello darkness - 2004-03-17

another night slips away - 2004-03-15

All words � MM 2001-03

>Where<
Now
History

>Who<
Bio
Profile
Cast
Picture
Survey
Ring
Clique
Fans

>Tell<
Email
Notes
IM
Guests

>Fun<
Quizzes
Wish
Random Entry
The-Spark
Reviews

>Design<
Create

Hosted