2003-02-24 ~ 9:25 p.m.
so you don't stand out/and you don't fit in/...weird...

Listening to:

Listening to: ::CLAP:: All the cops in the donut shop say way-oh-way-oh-ooh-way-ee-oh-ay-ohhhhh

My Class Ring! And! Pictures of my New Haircut!!

Please visit that link. If you love me, visit it. It is my new official online photo album so I will be updating it as I take more pictures.

So yeah, big day, kinda. Rings + Haircut = Happy Melissa. I haven't much else to say about that.

Another thing. I know I don't make a big deal out of it in here, so as not to seem like one of those 12-year-old teenybopper diarists, but I'm a big fan of girly-cosmetic things. Like, I have always wanted to get fake nails and highlights and stuff. And I'm obsessed with makeup but unfortunately I never get to buy or use it because a) I would totally drain myself of ALL extra cash, and b) my daily schedule hinders me from being able to apply any makeup whatsoever. I have lots of stuff to do in the morning and I have no time!

But seriously. If I could, I would be like the girliest girl ever. I just don't usually talk about it in my diary, unless I am bringing up some kind of sarcastic hypocrisy of the female teenagers of today and their increasing concern for outside appearance. But the truth is, I am just as obsessed about my appearance as every other teenage girl. Unfortunately, there is also this desire in me to "be different" and not fall in with the crowd. Not to say I'm a total non-conformist, but you know. I don't want to be just like everyone else. Make sense?

Except now, my fit-in-with-the-crowd side is totally taking over. My mother has finally consented to letting me get my hair highlighted, and I'm sure I can coerce her into letting me get a manicure for my birthday. I have a $40 gift certificate to Sephora, which I plan to utilize wisely on several different cosmetics. Maybe it's a phase, maybe I've always been like this. But it all comes down to one thing: Change.

I've been so bored with myself. I'm in the mood for something big, to change other people's opinion of me--to change my own opinion of myself. Is this, to quote John Mayer, a "quarter-life crisis, or just a stirring in my soul?"

Alright, so his lyrics are a little deep for this semi-shallow moment, but they just popped into my mind.

By the way, I am listening to Schoolhouse Rock and I am blissfully happy.

I think that's all for tonight. Just to let everyone know, my images will be back soon, as Kat said. I really appreciate all that she is doing for me, especially since I have offered nothing in return except my gratitude : Yeesh, I'll email her, I think.

So, yes, that's all. Great entry, I know. Goodnight, D-land.

Falling Upward ~ Falling Downward

Miss Anything?

i'm portable - 2005-02-16

busy making big mistakes - 2004-06-12

i'm sorry I know that's a strange way to tell you - 2004-03-21

hello darkness - 2004-03-17

another night slips away - 2004-03-15

All words � MM 2001-03

>Where<
Now
History

>Who<
Bio
Profile
Cast
Picture
Survey
Ring
Clique
Fans

>Tell<
Email
Notes
IM
Guests

>Fun<
Quizzes
Wish
Random Entry
The-Spark
Reviews

>Design<
Create

Hosted