2003-03-06 ~ 3:00 p.m.
future's made of virtual insanity

Listening to:

Listening to: "Who Will Save Your Soul," A capella of course-io.

Click.

It's hard explain how something so far away from where I live, can hit me so hard in the heart.

I've got family there. As far as I'm concerned, they are living in an insanely unstable country and they need to get out of there as soon as they can. It's beautiful to visit, such a fascinating culture, but when it comes down to actually living your life there, trying to make the most of your existence...I can't think of a worse place to live. And I want my family here in America, now.

It's not like my relatives want to be there, either. I can't speak for every citizen of the Philippines, but I know that most of my relatives would definitely prefer to be in America right now. We are already in the process of getting one of my aunts and her family here. It's just a lot of red tape, since the Philippines is not a very cooperative nation when it comes to granting visas. But we're hoping to get her and my cousins into the US by next year.

This bit of news has just reminded me of how different other countries in the world are from us. We are terrorized by other nations, not political and religious factions within our own country. And while everyone complains about how corrupt our government is, it's nothing compared to the corruption that goes on in third world countries like the Philippines.

You would think that I'd feel lucky to not be living in the Philippines then, and sure, I do, but it also makes me restless. Mostly because when it comes to situations like this, I can't make sense of my emotions. On the one hand, I'm glad it's not me. On the other hand, that's my family over there, and I need to care. It's hard to express. All I know is, I was pretty upset when I read this, and maybe I'm sounding a tad overprotective, but I'm just concerned.

I tried to write an entry both last night and this morning, and both times I was met with "Sorry, the server is too busy!!" Raggh. So yeah, things have happened between last night and right now, but you're not going to hear about them. Sorry. Aaaand I'm done.

Falling Upward ~ Falling Downward

Miss Anything?

i'm portable - 2005-02-16

busy making big mistakes - 2004-06-12

i'm sorry I know that's a strange way to tell you - 2004-03-21

hello darkness - 2004-03-17

another night slips away - 2004-03-15

All words � MM 2001-03

>Where<
Now
History

>Who<
Bio
Profile
Cast
Picture
Survey
Ring
Clique
Fans

>Tell<
Email
Notes
IM
Guests

>Fun<
Quizzes
Wish
Random Entry
The-Spark
Reviews

>Design<
Create

Hosted