2003-03-25 ~ 11:32 p.m.
war is not the answer

Listening to:

Listening to: "Brick," UPenn Off the Beat.

...And I'm drowning slowly.

I think I've started to develop an opinion on the war. Not just this war, I guess. War in general.

How ridiculously pompous of us is it to be like, "We're the big guy, we need to show 'em who's boss, we need to put them in line"? I know that the conflict runs deeper than just oil or just broken treaties...but the concept is simple enough. Here we have 2 clashing nations. One is obviously more "together" than the other. You do not pit these 2 nations against each other. That's not the definition of a war. My History teacher told us today that the definition of war is 2 nations of equal prowess fighting out a dispute. This isn't war. This is just us using our power to get what we want. And that's wrong in this case, in my opinion.

Maybe I'm just too optimistic for my own good, but I wish there was a way to ensure that everyone would be willing to sit down and talk things out, and fulfill the promises they keep. But the world is corrupt, and I'm not as na�ve as you think I am. I know that actions speak louder than words, and that's the idea we're going for with the war, I guess. But please see the previous paragraph to remember why I don't think our actions are justified right now.

So you say, we're the most powerful nation in the world, we should hold ourselves responsible for looking out for the less well-off countries. Well sure we should, but not at the expense of our own citizens. Saddam may be a total and complete psycho, I will concur with that. But won't war with Iraq eventually have the same consequences as no war with Iraq? He might have had nuclear weapons, our welfare as a nation and a people was violated by this. So to solve it, we send our soldiers into combat, so that we can, what, either force him to admit it, or kill him? Does everyone realize that Saddam has, like, heirs to his position? He's not the last of his kind. The way I see it, everything will come full circle anyway. Why waste extra lives?

I also think, though, that now that there's not turning back, there's nothing left to do but support it. Like I've said before, even if I may not support the cause our army and air force are fighting for, I will certainly support their right to defend our nation. I just hope that as many men and women return home as possible.

If only I'd been as sure of my feelings back before war was declared. I sure would have been more vocal. But now all I can do is stand by the actions of my country, and who knows, maybe it all will turn out for the better and I'll have been wrong. But everything I've said here today concerning my opinions on war in general holds true, and I don't think any outcome will ever change my opinion.

Falling Upward ~ Falling Downward

Miss Anything?

i'm portable - 2005-02-16

busy making big mistakes - 2004-06-12

i'm sorry I know that's a strange way to tell you - 2004-03-21

hello darkness - 2004-03-17

another night slips away - 2004-03-15

All words � MM 2001-03

>Where<
Now
History

>Who<
Bio
Profile
Cast
Picture
Survey
Ring
Clique
Fans

>Tell<
Email
Notes
IM
Guests

>Fun<
Quizzes
Wish
Random Entry
The-Spark
Reviews

>Design<
Create

Hosted