2003-03-30 ~ 8:13 a.m.
I should be so lucky/lucky lucky lucky/I should be so lucky in love

Listening to:

Listening to: John Mayer, who else?

This weekend has been all right, I guess. My dad had band practice so all my uncles came over and so did my cousin Justin. But I left him halfway through the day to go have fun-fun at Julie's house. Whenever I go to her house I just never want to leave. But alas, I was picked up by my mother at 10:30 and then the boringness commenced.

Today I played flute at church and also I got music for Easter. This year I am going to play the piano for one of the Easter masses. This will be my first time as an accompanist instead of just a backup musician. : I am kind of nervous but I also think I can handle it. I think that I handle performance under pressure pretty well, at least when it comes to the piano, and at leat when I've had a sufficient amount of time to perfect the music. In any case, I will be working pretty hard on this for the next couple of weeks, so more about it later.

My parents and I have been debating for a while over whether or not I should have a Sweet 16 for my birthday. A couple times we have decided it's worth it, and then we changed our minds and were like, let's just keep it small. For once and for all me and my mom decided that I was going to have a Sweet 16 on May 10th, when my Tita Velia and cousin Tintin from the Philippines would be here. But my dad was apparently really opposed to this idea.

So opposed, in fact, that he offered this as an option to me:

I drop the idea of a Sweet 16, and he buys me a car.

So yeah. A car it is. But the best part is, I still get to have a get-together at home. Score one more for Melissa.

Today we were discussing this option further. Technically, the car will be registered and insured in their name, so they will be the real owners of the car. But theoretically, it will be mine, because I'm going to learn on it, I'm going to drive it once I get my license, and I'm going to be the only one driving it.

Plus I get to pick it out.

We are buying a used car, definitely, because new is not an option right now. I'm thinking the Dodge Stratus or the Honda Civic, both in white. Ooh, excitement. I hope my parents are really willing to do this. If they really buy it I won't expect the stereo system that I had wanted before. And with good reason, I guess.

I should consider myself lucky to have both the party and the car. But I don't feel like I'm imposing on my parents because they've been thinking about buying a new car, and this just fits in with that plan. So yay, isn't it great when things work out? Hooray la de da.

I do-not want to go to school tomorrowwwah. There's nothing to look forward to, except maybe that I have band lessons 6th period. And that my mother made me a Reuben sandwich for lunch. Oh yes, did I mention?

We broke Lent today. My mom was halfway through grilling the Reubens (which, if you will recall, is a grilled sandwich consisting of rye bread, corned beef, sauerkraut (sp?), and Thousand Island dressing), when she dropped the spatula and was like "THIS IS RED MEAT!!!" We all kind of stared at her like...this isn't my fault! But they looked really really good so we were like...1 out of 2 months isn't bad! Ahh we're bad Catholics haha. But I'm still going to not eat anything that has the word "chip" in it. Oops. Just realized I never said in here what I was Lenting on.

So yeah, this year we decided as a family not to eat red meat (so chicken and other various poultry is okay). And me and my sister both gave up something extra--I gave up anything with the word "chip" in it (potato chips, tortilla chips, chocolate chips) and my sister gave up ice cream and cookies and cake. Well, my sister broke the red meat thing a while ago, but the rest of us hadn't yet. Before today, anyway. Ha-ha, my mother's reaction was just too funny. How could she forget? You know, I'll probably do something like that too one day. Just you wait.

Okay, I haven't anything else to talk about. I'm off to take a shower (the wonderful shower of Oz). Yikes. Don't know where that came from. Anyway. Goodnight, D-land.

Falling Upward ~ Falling Downward

Miss Anything?

i'm portable - 2005-02-16

busy making big mistakes - 2004-06-12

i'm sorry I know that's a strange way to tell you - 2004-03-21

hello darkness - 2004-03-17

another night slips away - 2004-03-15

All words � MM 2001-03

>Where<
Now
History

>Who<
Bio
Profile
Cast
Picture
Survey
Ring
Clique
Fans

>Tell<
Email
Notes
IM
Guests

>Fun<
Quizzes
Wish
Random Entry
The-Spark
Reviews

>Design<
Create

Hosted