2003-07-18 ~ 11:28 p.m.
we'll ruin, your, prrrroommm!

Listening to: "I Can Hear the Bells," Hairspray soundtrack

Ooh today I saw a sneak preview of Freaky Friday, the Disney movie with Jamie Lee Curtis and Lindsay Lohan. I didn't really expect it to be that great but then it was rillyrilly funny. I went with Lindsay, Lauren, my sister, and her friend. The place was packed. I always thought sneak previews were like exclusive events in small theaters with bigger seats and no previews of other movies in the beginning. I was obviously wrong.

Other than that, nothing happened today. It was the last day of Vacation Bible School. I'm semi-glad but not really because it was like the only thing I've done all summer that was worth doing. But then again I got really tired of helping small children make crafts after a while, so maybe it's best that today was the last day.

What else? Lindsay came over and we watched The Princess Diaries. Yeah, that was my whole afternoon. I seriously didn't do anything else. I made lunch and stuff. That's all.

Tomorrow there is a barbecue at my godmother's house but I never go to those things so obviously I don't want to start going now. I used to just go all the time, because I had no alternative, but really I'm sure I could call someone up and arrange something to avoid going. It's not even really that bad, just kind of boring because I'm the only person there who does not have a companion within their age group. So I just sit there and watch TV and eat. I think I might actually have to go tomorrow, though. My parents are pushing it. We'll see.

Wednesday is the Train concert ::shocked face:: It seemed so far away! July is almost over, then August will go by fast because I'll be on vacation, then ::piercing shriek:: School NOOOOOOOOOOOOO.

Sorry, I'm depressing myself. I'm excited for the Train concert, I really am a fan of them, and it will be cool to see them live. I have seen live video of them and they're just as good live as they are recorded. Pat Monahan has like the best voice out of any lead singer out there now. I don't think I'll ever be in tune with the music that the rest of the kids my age like. I wasn't really into the whole pop scene, and now with all the punk and emo and retro bands and guitar/piano-playing singer-songwriters, I just can't seem to find where I fit in. The only artists popular now that I am a big fan of, are the Mraz, Johnny, and Michelle Branch, and 2 of those 3 had a following before they got picked up by a label. All my other favorite bands/artists are not very mainstream--more VH-1 artists like Sheryl Crow and Bon Jovi, both of which are far more mainstream than Hanson.

::sigh:: I feel like I'm either a step behind or a step ahead of my peers in terms of musical tastes. I don't really find anything wrong with it, it's just frustrating cause music is important to me and I can never seem to find anyone who identifies with me. Lindsay, Ilana, and Karen all have separate tastes that kind of come together into the same stuff I like. I can talk to Lindsay about Hanson all the time, and Ilana is like the Johnny/Mraz guru, and Karen is always there to pick up the leftover pieces because she knows a lot more about music than she gives herself credit for--but I've never met one singular person who I can talk to about all of those things with. Hopefully I will one day. Hopefully it will be a guy. ::Ahem::

Still on a one-track mind, if you couldn't tell. But you know, I am lucky to have a close circle of friends who at least share some of my tastes. All of our preferences sort of overlap into each other's, like Lindsay likes Johnny and the Mraz too, and Ilana knows some non-Mmmbop Hanson songs, and Karen's the best, she'll give anything a listen. So really this entry is like, "yayyyy friends." Ta dah!

I want to go watch the rape episode of Degrassi now. I hope you all enjoyed my super-verbose entry. Goodnight, D-land.

Falling Upward ~ Falling Downward

Miss Anything?

i'm portable - 2005-02-16

busy making big mistakes - 2004-06-12

i'm sorry I know that's a strange way to tell you - 2004-03-21

hello darkness - 2004-03-17

another night slips away - 2004-03-15

All words � MM 2001-03

>Where<
Now
History

>Who<
Bio
Profile
Cast
Picture
Survey
Ring
Clique
Fans

>Tell<
Email
Notes
IM
Guests

>Fun<
Quizzes
Wish
Random Entry
The-Spark
Reviews

>Design<
Create

Hosted