2003-07-24 ~ 12:43 a.m.
i just wanna be your man and i'll be super baby

Listening to: Sleepy

Holy CRAP there is no better escape from your problems than a Train concert. I don't even know how to explain how good they were without saying "Holy crap" a couple more times.

They sounded JUST like their albums. Better, we decided. Pat Monahan is tiiiime-ah-less. He has the voice of a (male) angel. How does he do it? Even the instrumentals sounded record-perfect. The drums weren't too loud, which is usually my problem. In fact, nothing was too loud. Everything seemed to be in the right proportion, which I have NEVER, seriously NEVER witnessed at any live music event. Not even like Chicago, who have been around for decades, had the right sound proportions in my opinion.

They sang all the right songs--the ones I really wanted to hear live, that is. And for their last encore they sang "Dream On," like they did at Aerosmith Icon. I thought I'd never ever ever hear them play it in concert. When the song started I had a coronary. I was like AAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHH and some people were probably like, okay. But I was really excited because Mr. Monahan is like the reincarnation of 70's-esque Steven Tyler, only much more nicely dressed, and I always thought they did an amazing job with that song.

Even with the adverse situation I was in (separated from my buddies, wedged between 2 groups of spastic dancing 40 year old Train obsessees) I managed to have an AMAZING time. They really connect with their audience. You could feel the energy in their music. Nothing felt anemic or boring at any time. Even when they played covers I wasn't wholly familiar with, I was satisfied with just listening and admiring their musicianship.

I must say that the people around me provided for some extremely funny stories. First of all, during the opening act, a cool cat named Matt Nathanson (who had a cello player! nifty) had the whole audience sing along to "Living on a Prayer" by Bon Jovi. Well, as soon as he said we'd be singing Bon Jovi he had me. I was like YOU ARE THE BEST PERSON EVER. Anyway, I was literally the only person under 25 singing along. But everyone else was...including the 25-year-old guys standing next to me. Let's just say they didn't have the best pitch ever. As in, I could not have had a better use for duct tape at that moment. But it was really funny. You all will have to ask for my imitation someday.

And then when Train came out, the 2 groups of crazed 40-year-old fans went like bucknutty and thus I got smacked on the head with elbows and SNEEZED upon, that's right, SNEEZED upon, several times. This one lady to my right was doing some kind of Axl Rose/Davy Jones dance and kept hitting me in the collarbone with her seal-like clapping hands. And when she waved her arms in the air after the songs she whacked me right on the skull. It was NOT pleasant. On top of all that, some girl behind me sneezed on my shoulder during the third song. It was uncool.

After that I found my way back to Lindsay and Kaitlin. Things were a lot better, in terms of bodily harm, but also a lot better in terms of the view. Previously I had not been able to see anything except for a) people's backs and b) people's hair unless I maneuvered myself somewhat. Then I moved and there was a convenient little window between two people's heads, and I could actually see the band without performing acrobatics.

But even if I couldn't see the whole time, the point was I could hear perfectly the whole time and that's enough for me. Even with the sneezing and the whacking and the acrobatics and coming home reeking of cigarette smoke, it was still evident that Train is something special. That definitely earned them a higher spot on my List of Melissa-Tested, Melissa-Approved Bands. Top Five, I would say. Top Three, even.

Whew. I'm done with this entry but there's more to be said. I'll probably just come back to the experience in future entries. Right now I'm really sleepy from a long day, but I'll try to write more tomorrow too.

Falling Upward ~ Falling Downward

Miss Anything?

i'm portable - 2005-02-16

busy making big mistakes - 2004-06-12

i'm sorry I know that's a strange way to tell you - 2004-03-21

hello darkness - 2004-03-17

another night slips away - 2004-03-15

All words � MM 2001-03

>Where<
Now
History

>Who<
Bio
Profile
Cast
Picture
Survey
Ring
Clique
Fans

>Tell<
Email
Notes
IM
Guests

>Fun<
Quizzes
Wish
Random Entry
The-Spark
Reviews

>Design<
Create

Hosted