2003-09-03 ~ 2:45 a.m.
the electric companyyyy

Listening to: excuse me mrs, busybodayy/could you pencil me in when you can?

School is literally a day away. So begins the last day of summer. My God, how sad. It's not even so much that I'll be angry to see the school year begin, I'm more wistful about seeing the summer come to a close. This summer has been one of the best in a while. I didn't do much, but things I did do I'll probably remember for a while. I have finally found a place in the world for myself. I know who my true friends are. I know what a good concert should feel like. I think all those things qualify as good-summer things.

Which is why I'm so sad it's over. But I guess if it was any longer I'd never appreciate it as much as I do. School this year will be hectic so I'm glad I got this summer to relax and chill out. At least I know I've done that much.

With that said, there's not much more to do but accept the fact that school is starting on Thursday. And I guess I'm okay with that. What else am I gonna do?

This year also begins a new kind of game plan for the year. I want to throw myself into my work like I used to in middle school. I want to read the books for English like they're the only books I'll read for the rest of my life. I want to make something explode in Chem--and understand why it happens. I want to find a whole new era to be fascinated with in History. In Spanish I need to exert myself even more so than usual because in April I'll FINALLY be going to Spain!!! Estoy muy emocionado. Necesito repasar mi vocabulario.

Most of my friends are like "School is the worst thing to ever happen to mankind" and most of the time I agree, but at this point in time when all I can see are new possibilities and new memories and new experiences ahead, it's hard to not get even a little bit excited. I have always felt like the beginning of the school year was more of a New Years Day than New Years Day itself is. Forgive me for being overly upbeat about it all but how else am I going to keep myself sane? I've got to tell myself something.

Tomorrow = first official marching band practice (band camp doesn't count apparently). I am not that nervous because I'll be there with Lindsay and Karen most of the time. It doesn't work for some people but I can have an okay time almost anywhere I go as long as I'm in good company.

Schedule for tomorrow? Get up, shower, take jeans to dry-cleaners for hemming, come home and possibly straighten hair, go to marching band, come home and straighten hair if I haven't done so already, and then get ready for school the next day. Eeep. I just can't believe summer's over.

Tonight I played Inklink with Ilana for like 4 hours. We didn't start winning until like our last 2 games when everyone left. It's very fun. But chances are this was my last and only night to play it for a long time because starting Thursday it's school time baby. Man that reality check really hurts.

By the way, I finished The Grapes of Wrath. Wow. I know I'll be bashing one of the nations most renowned novels or whatever, but...I hated it. Not that John Steinbeck is an awful writer or anyway--in fact his descriptions of scenery and of social and political corruption in the Depression through figurative language, were really beautiful and candid...but the plot line? Can we say non-existent? And what kind of a name is Rosasharn anyway???

I hope someone will explain the reason that this book is apparently so great. I get it that it's like a look at the hardships of the Okies and all the people during the Dust Bowl/Depression years, but did it really have to be 600 pages long?

Well I'm tar'd. (AHHHH make the Oklahoma accent STOP!) I'm going to go read a book that's NOT The Grapes of Wrath and fall asleep. Goodnight, D-land.

Falling Upward ~ Falling Downward

Miss Anything?

i'm portable - 2005-02-16

busy making big mistakes - 2004-06-12

i'm sorry I know that's a strange way to tell you - 2004-03-21

hello darkness - 2004-03-17

another night slips away - 2004-03-15

All words � MM 2001-03

>Where<
Now
History

>Who<
Bio
Profile
Cast
Picture
Survey
Ring
Clique
Fans

>Tell<
Email
Notes
IM
Guests

>Fun<
Quizzes
Wish
Random Entry
The-Spark
Reviews

>Design<
Create

Hosted