2003-12-06 ~ 9:41 a.m.
what child is thiiiis that laid to rest in mary's lap is sleeeping?

Listening to: My dad playing Christmas songs on the piano

Has anyone reading (besides the obvious) read Bartleby by Herman Melville? If so, did it not ROCK LIKE NO OTHER?

I thought it was the funniest book I have read in my whole high school career thus far (well...up to a certain point). And then we started to talk about the point behind the book.

This book has reminded me why I love English so much, despite all the awful teachers I have had. I don't know why I get excited by symbolism and thematic coherency but, hey, why fight a good thing? I think I would make an excellent English teacher as long as I was teaching interesting stuff. These are the books I want to be able to teach when I grow up:

-To Kill a Mockingbird. Just amazing.
-Romeo and Juliet.
-A Separate Peace
-Joy Luck Club
-Les Miserables. That would be a STRETCH. That book is ridiculously difficult to teach well.
-Speak, Laurie Halse Anderson. It's already a classic.
-Bartleby, of course.
-The Grapes of Wrath. Gotta have those biblical allusions.
-NOT the Odyssey, I refuse.

I'm sure I will encounter many more this year and in the years to come. And I'm sure I've forgotten some. But yeah, just having some fun thinking about the future.

Entry later? Eh? We'll see.

Falling Upward ~ Falling Downward

Miss Anything?

i'm portable - 2005-02-16

busy making big mistakes - 2004-06-12

i'm sorry I know that's a strange way to tell you - 2004-03-21

hello darkness - 2004-03-17

another night slips away - 2004-03-15

All words � MM 2001-03

>Where<
Now
History

>Who<
Bio
Profile
Cast
Picture
Survey
Ring
Clique
Fans

>Tell<
Email
Notes
IM
Guests

>Fun<
Quizzes
Wish
Random Entry
The-Spark
Reviews

>Design<
Create

Hosted