2004-01-03 ~ 9:18 p.m.
you have a fancy ride but baby

Listening to: "There Goes the Neighborhood," Sheryl Crow.

Whooooaaaa.

I saw Peter Pan today. Whoa AND Yikes and EEE. Excellent.

I rarely speak of my Peter Pan obsession and it is often overshadowed by Alice, but I have read the book just as many times as I have read the Alices, and I love it just as much for different reasons. I despise the Disney version of Peter Pan, so it has been hard to fulfill my Pan obsession, whereas I am a big fan of the Disney Alice.

But I've finally found a movie that does Peter Pan, the book, justice. It was so great... just overwhelming. The cinematography was breathtaking, especially the sky scenes. That's another thing I love about Peter Pan that I can't get from Alice in Wonderland--there are a lot of star and sky references. But yeah, in any case, Peter Pan is now my favorite movie. And Jeremy Sumpter, the kid who plays Peter, is an absolute star, in every sense of the word. I am so glad they finally used a real boy to play Peter Pan instead of a 30-year-old woman, like in the plays, or a 40-year-old man, like in Hook. They did a great job of turning the book into a screenplay that people now can connect with. It wasn't exactly by-the-book but I was satisfied with how they did it, because I'm sure some parts of the novel, especially the narration, are just hard to create on screen. Bleh no one knows what I am talking about anyway.

Wow, that was a LONG paragraph. But I am excited about rekindling my Pan obsession.

Also today I went out with my family for dinner once again. My aunt and

....

Oh wow my sister and my cousin just came in and performed their "play" for me...

...

I can't even begin to explain but I'm dying of laughter. They are crazy kids, man. It reminds me of Vanessa and me when we were younger, definitely. We did some FREAKY things when we were little--I don't know if I should even go into it for fear of sounding like a total mental case. Hm. Maybe one of these days I'll recount our old favorite playtime pastimes.

ANYWAY.

So my aunt and uncle and the two cousins, Amanda and Angie, are over right now cause my aunt is taking my grandmother back to their house. We went to Bertucci's for dinner and I had some excellent, excellent tiramisu. I think tiramisu is creeping up behind cheesecake as my favorite dessert. OH THE SHOCK OH THE SCANDAL. Yeah I know. Anyway, I started reading the new Gossip Girl book, Because I'm Worth It. WHY do I love that series so much? It's so...sleazy. But I can't get enough of it.

And then for something completely different, last night I finished The Dark by Marianne Curley, which is the second book in the Guardians of Time trilogy. So yeah, I like the sleazy realistic fiction stuff, the crazy fantasy novels like The Dark, sci-fi novels like Turnabout by Laurie Halse Anderson, fairy-tales like Two Princesses of Bamarre by Gail Carson Levine, classic fantasy of course like Alice, Pan, and the Wizard of Oz, and obviously the normal realistic fiction like Meg Cabot's stuff and the Sisterhood of the Travelling Pants books and Louise Rennison's novels. Oh and not to mention I like historical fiction, especially when it deals with the 50's or 60's. La la.

What do people DO without books? I'm serious, I want to know. I absolutely have to read every night before I go to bed or I can't sleep. I guess that's just me, I'm sure not too many people would want to ever do that but I have to... even if I am exhausted I at least open a book and read a couple lines, it's hard to explain why. I guess I'm just so used to it.

Yesterday I went to the mall with my family and I bought Sheryl Crow's Greatest Hits album. Also I bought the aforementioned Gossip Girl book, and a bunch of pairs of fun dangly star earrings... they rock my world. So yeah, that's what I did. Oh the joys of shopping.

Okay, my sister and my cousin want me to videotape their play... haha. I'm going.

Goodnight, D-land.

Falling Upward ~ Falling Downward

Miss Anything?

i'm portable - 2005-02-16

busy making big mistakes - 2004-06-12

i'm sorry I know that's a strange way to tell you - 2004-03-21

hello darkness - 2004-03-17

another night slips away - 2004-03-15

All words � MM 2001-03

>Where<
Now
History

>Who<
Bio
Profile
Cast
Picture
Survey
Ring
Clique
Fans

>Tell<
Email
Notes
IM
Guests

>Fun<
Quizzes
Wish
Random Entry
The-Spark
Reviews

>Design<
Create

Hosted