2004-03-08 ~ 8:35 p.m.
ohh i'm coming cleaaan

Listening to: "In Other Words," Ben Kweller

I just finished playing my guitar for about an hour. I haven't picked it up in maybe 4 months. Such a nice feeling to be able to make something out of nothing, to pull at metal-wound strings and produce music. I've been inspired, I think I'm going to go downstairs and practice piano after I finish this entry.

I wish I were a child prodigy like those kids in School of Rock. How can you not be impressed by that? I am smitten by the bad-ass drummer who is like 12 years old, I want to meet him and steal his drumsticks and get his autograph.

I think I want to learn how to play bass guitar. I remember a time when I used to be OBSESSED with bass guitarists and I thought they were like the heart of every band and I knew the name of every bass player from every standard rock and roll band. But somewhere between John Mayer and Ari Hest, the solo guitarist stole the spotlight in my heart. I think I need to start turning up the bass as loud as possible on my stereo again. There is a certain beauty to an intricate bass line. I remember think that No Doubt's songs on Tragic Kingdom were near-orgasmic... okay, maybe I didn't think that back then, because I highly doubt I knew what an orgasm was when I was like 11. Or if I did, I wouldn't have described any music using that word. But I digress.

Today I got much less work done than it really felt like. I spent more than an hour reading 3 pages of history and taking notes. At least I am starting to be productive again. Now I can feel like I am not wasting my time when I do things like write entries and watch Full House.

Speaking of which!

Oh, wait. First, good things of today/last night:

  • Had an online conversation with a good friend who moved away in 8th grade. I always wonder if potentially we could have stayed good friends if he still lived here. I can't make that decision judging on the kind of shallow conversation we had last night, but I can safely say that he doesn't resent me for some stuff I got roped into when we were younger together.
  • Had a Tastykake Koffee Kake (it pains me to use that many K's) for the first time and I'm pretty sure it's my new favorite breakfast item.
  • Spoke really good Spanish in class. 18 DAYS till SPAIN!!!
  • No chem today, we had a rotating band lesson instead :) Hurrah
  • I think I did moderately well on the History test, then again I am probably really wrong about that. But now I know that if I study even more, maybe I can guarantee that I do well.
  • Had a really cool sort of independent conversation about biblical allusions in Stephen Crane's Maggie in English today. I got really, really thrilled about biblical allusions. I can't believe I ever doubted wanting to be an English teacher ::winky face::
  • Homestarrunner.com updates!!! Yay!
  • Yesterday I drove all 'round the town and was reminded that driving is actually fun, especially when my mom takes me driving cause it's like she's not even there.
  • Okay, that's enough

Full House Time!! 'Night, D-land.

Falling Upward ~ Falling Downward

Miss Anything?

i'm portable - 2005-02-16

busy making big mistakes - 2004-06-12

i'm sorry I know that's a strange way to tell you - 2004-03-21

hello darkness - 2004-03-17

another night slips away - 2004-03-15

All words � MM 2001-03

>Where<
Now
History

>Who<
Bio
Profile
Cast
Picture
Survey
Ring
Clique
Fans

>Tell<
Email
Notes
IM
Guests

>Fun<
Quizzes
Wish
Random Entry
The-Spark
Reviews

>Design<
Create

Hosted