2002-06-25 ~ 2:27 p.m.
really cause im kinda hearing, "look at me, im a freak"

Listening to:

Listening to: The TV. Yeah huh.

I watched Grease today. I haven't watched it in a long time, but I still remember all the words to the songs and stuff. As I watched the movie, a few rhetorical questions came up. They are:

  • What exactly is a "T-bird"? Is it a real bird? Or just some kind of fictitious fowl that was created for the movie?
  • When Danny says "Well she was good, you know what I mean" in "Summer Lovin'", what does he mean? I could not infer from the information given.
  • Why do so many schools and community theaters put on productions of this show when there is so much blatantly vulgar language used? I won't provide an example.
  • And last but not least, what kind of a moral does the story of Grease possess? In the end, Sandy completely makes herself over (as a slut and a chain smoker, to be exact) in order to meet the standards of Danny's "clique." What is the lesson learned here? You should conform to what other people want in order to get what you want? I'm not buying it.

If anybody has the answers and/or insights to this question, feel free to sign the Book. I need more guestbook entries, anyway. Watching this movie made me long to live in a world where people can randomly break into song and it goes unnoticed. And also people join in. As stated in this entry, I sometimes wish that life was a Broadway musical. And Grease is basically the embodiment of that concept. I mean, in "Summer Lovin'" Danny and Sandy are on opposite sides of the school and yet they are rhyming words with each other and harmonizing rather nicely, and all their friends are dancing in this sychronized fashion that had to have been rehearsed. I know it's a movie, and I know it's not really supposed to depict real life, I just thought that it was kinda funny when you applied that scene to, you know, reality. Which I apparently have no grasp of.

Okay I'm freaking myself out so I'll go.

Falling Upward ~ Falling Downward

Miss Anything?

i'm portable - 2005-02-16

busy making big mistakes - 2004-06-12

i'm sorry I know that's a strange way to tell you - 2004-03-21

hello darkness - 2004-03-17

another night slips away - 2004-03-15

All words � MM 2001-03

>Where<
Now
History

>Who<
Bio
Profile
Cast
Picture
Survey
Ring
Clique
Fans

>Tell<
Email
Notes
IM
Guests

>Fun<
Quizzes
Wish
Random Entry
The-Spark
Reviews

>Design<
Create

Hosted